'Ensemble Modern'에 해당되는 글 1건

  1. 2016.06.01 Music for 18 Musicians

Music for 18 Musicians

Composition of the Day 2016.06.01 09:00

The structure of Music for 18 Musicians is based on a cycle of eleven chords played at the very beginning of the piece and repeated at the end. All the instruments and voices play or sing the pulsating notes with each chord. Instruments like the strings which do not have to breathe nevertheless follow the rise and fall of the breath by following the breathing patterns of the bass clarinet. Each chord is held for the duration of two breaths, and the next chord is gradually introduced, and so on, until all eleven are played and the ensemble returns to the first chord.

—From the composer's notes

Trackbacks 0 : Comments 0